News and Annoucements


2016-12-30 : Semester Time Table uploaded !!
Spring Semester Time Table - 2016-17

2016-12-27 : Prof. S. Sudarshan has been selected by IIT Madras for the Distinguished Alumnus Award for the year 2017
Prof. S. Sudarshan has been selected by IIT Madras for the Distinguished Alumnus Award for the year 2017

2016-12-26 : Prof. Madhu Sudan (Harvard University) visiting IIT Bombay as NR Kamath Chair Professor (Dec 19,2016 - Jan 6,2017)
Professor Madhu Sudan, an expert on Coding Theory and the Theory of Computation from Harvard University, will be visiting IIT Bombay until Jan 6th. He is here as NR Kamath Chair Professor. During Prof. Sudan's time here, we will have an Institute Colloquium, a Mathematics Department Colloquium, and a 3-day workshop. Link: http://www.math.iitb.ac.in/~srikanth/madhu-dec16.html

2016-11-23 : Smart Energy Informatics Lab's paper on "Observability" Best Paper Finalist at ACM Buildsys.
Observability: A Principled Approach to Provisioning Sensors in Buildings" - Work of Smart Energy Informatics Lab -- Anshul Agarwal (Ph.D), Vitobha Munigala (M.tech) -- guided by Prof. Krithi Ramamritham, was a best paper finalist in ACM BuidSys 2016. Details can be found in http://buildsys.acm.org/2016/program/.

2016-10-15 : CFILT research on sarcasm reported in MIT Technology Review
Work of Aditya Joshi, Vaibbhav Tripathy, Kevin Patel- graduate students at CSE Dept. advised by Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharya- on sarcasm detection, which is a part of Sentiment, Emotion and Opinion Mining, has been reported in MIT Technology Review:
Visit https://www.technologyreview.com/s/602639/how-vector-space- mathematics-helps-machines-spot-sarcasm/
In today's open and connected world, opinion expressed on public fora are of great importance to e-governance, e-commerce etc. This work contributes to automated opinion tracking.

2016-09-15 : Awards for excellence in research (B.Tech. Project, M.Tech. Project + Dual Degree Project) and Teaching Assistant work.
Award for Teaching Assistant of the semester - Spring 2016
* Aman Gour, CS 725 (Foundations of Machine Learning) taught by Prof. Ganesh Ramakrishnan
Aman proactively handled large class of 250 students and mentored a phenomenal project.

Awards for excellence in research: M.Tech. Project (No particular order)
* Rakesh Mistry (guide: Prof. Supratik Chakraborty)
Rakesh was a co-author on two conference papers at CAV 2015 and AAAI 2016.

* Vitobha Munigala (guide: Prof. Krithi Ramamritham)
Vitobha contributed to a sensor fusion based occupancy detection and an appliance actuation system. He is a co-author on two papers based on his M Tech work.

Awards for excellence in research: B.Tech. Project (No particular order)
* Nishanth Koushik, guide: Prof. Suyash Awate
Nishanth was a co-author on a conference paper at ECML-PKDD 2016.

* Dheerendra Rathore, guide: Prof. Kameswari Chebrolu and Prof. Bhaskaran Raman
Dheerendra contributed to two software projects - BodhiTree and SAFE.

* Vinay Chandra, guide: Prof. Bhaskaran Raman and Prof. Kameswari Chebrolu
Vinay contributed to Android application building through a software project called SAFE.

2016-08-24 : Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV) - Matsya, IITB has secured 2nd position in AUVSI Robosub 2016.
The Autonomous Underwater Vehicle (AUV) - Matsya, has given a spectacular performance to reach the finals of AUVSI Robosub 2016 and secure the second position in the world giving the best performance by any Asian Team. The team secured the second position beating six-time winner Cornell University and were only marginally behind the winner, Caltech University.

2016-06-27 : Aniruddha Kushwaha awarded Google PhD fellowship 2016
Aniruddha Kushwaha, PS PhD student from GNL, selected for the Google PhD fellowship for the year 2016 and is among the 4 students selected from India

2016-06-27 : Prof. Abhiram Ranade elected as Member-at-Large at ACM India Council
Prof. Abhiram Ranade has been elected as Member-at-Large at ACM India Council for a term of four years from July 2016 to June 2020.

2016-06-21 : Sanjeev Mk wins Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2016 India, advised by Prof. Siddhartha Chaudhuri
MTech student Sanjeev Mk has won the Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2016 India for his ongoing research on 3D shape analysis with Prof. Siddhartha Chaudhuri. A total of four fellowships were awarded in the inaugural India edition of this prestigious award. The fellowship includes a cash award and interaction with Qualcomm researchers.

2016-05-04 : Prof. Uday Khedkar appointed as new Head of Department
Prof. Uday Khedkar is the new Head of the Department, after completion of Prof. Sudarshan's term

2016-04-07 : Three papers in IJCAI, the top venue in AI.
  1. Batch-Switching Policy Iteration
    Shivaram Kalyanakrishnan, Utkarsh Mall, and Ritish Goyal
  2. Interactive Martingale Boosting
    Ashish Kulkarni, Pushpak Burange and Ganesh Ramakrishnan
  3. Improving Approximate Counting for Probabilistic Inference: From Linear to Logarithmic SAT Solver Calls
    Supratik Chakraborty, Kuldeep S. Meel and Moshe Y. Vardi
  4. Congratulations to all.

2016-04-01 : RISC : Department's Research symposium on Saturday
The research symposium of the department, RISC, will be held on Saturday. Students will present their research in the form of sprint thesis talks (short talks of upto 3 minutes), and posters. Several visitors from the industry have confirmed their participation. For details, visit www.cse.iitb.ac.in/~risc

2016-02-06 : Two Teams Qualify for ACM ICPC World Finals
Two teams from IIT Bombay qualified to be at the ACM ICPC World Finals based on winning performances in the Regional Contest. The team members are

Encore: Aditya Akash, Sai Krishna, Shyam J V S
NTM: Nikhil Vyas, SaiSandeep, Venkat Rao

Congratulations to both teams!

2016-01-01 : Dr. Pushpak Bhattacharyya appointed president of ACL (Association of Computational Linguistics)
Dr. Pushpak Bhattacharyya have formally become the president of ACL(Association of Computational Linguistics) for a year.

KReSIT news archives.


Faculty CSE IT
Forgot Password
    [+] Sitemap     Feedback