News and Annoucements


2019-12-28 : Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya appointed Associate Editor, Neurocomputing Journal
Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya has been appointed Associate Editor (Natural Language Processing) of the prestigious journal Neurocomputing (Elsevier Publishers). Neurocomputing publishes articles describing recent fundamental contributions in the field of neurocomputing.

2019-12-22 : SVComp victory
Software verification competition (SV-COMP) is an annual competition to evaluate the state-of-the-art in verification technology. VeriAbs - a verification tool from TCS Research - has won a gold medal in ReachSafety category in the year 2020. Our student Divyesh Unadkat along with Prof. Supratik Chakraborty and Prof. Ashutosh Gupta has developed a component of VeriAbs that allows it to perform well on the programs that extensively use arrays. The component implements two novel techniques called Tiling and Full Program Induction. Link to the competition page: https://sv-comp.sosy-lab.org/2020/results/results-verified/

2019-12-06 : FSTTCS 2019, SAT+SMT Winter School 2019 and Related Workshops
The FSTTCS conference is a forum for presenting original results in foundational aspects of Computer Science and Software Technology. It is an annual international conference being organised since 1981, under the aegis of IARCS (Indian Association for Research in Computing Sciences). This year the conference is being organised at IIT Bombay from December 11, 2019 to December 13, 2019, with several associated and co-located events viz. the fourth Indian SAT+SMT winter school (https://sat-smt.in/) from December 8-10, 2019, additional pre-conference workshops on December 10, 2019 and post-conference workshops on December 14, 2019.

2019-11-07 : Prof. Sunita Sarawagi has been selected to receive the prestigious Infosys Prize for the year 2019.
Congratulations to Prof. Sunita Sarawagi for being selected to receive the prestigious Infosys Prize for the year 2019 for Engineering and Computer Science.

2019-09-05 : Departmental award for excellence in teaching, 2019
Congratulations to the following faculty members Mythili Vutukuru, Ajit Rajwade who have been selected to receive the Departmental award for excellence in teaching, 2019

2019-08-19 : Awards for Research Excellence in BTP/DDP/MTP, 2019
The following students receive these departmental awards this year: 1 Abhijeet Dubey (MTech Thesis Project) [Advisors: Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharya, Dr. Aditya Joshi] 2 Pankaj Joshi (MTech Thesis Project) [Advisors: Prof. Preethi Jyothi, Prof. Ganesh Ramakrishnan] 3 Rohit Kumar Jena (BTech Thesis Project) [Advisor: Prof. Suyash Awate] Congratulations to the students and the advisors!

2019-08-08 : Best Paper Award finalist at IEEE ISBI 2019
A paper by Uddeshya Upadhyay (Dual-Degree student in CSE) and Prof. Suyash P. Awate was selected as a finalist for the Best Paper Award at the IEEE International Symposium on Biomedical Imaging (ISBI) 2019.
Title: Robust Super-Resolution Gan, with Manifold-Based and Perception Loss
More details at https://biomedicalimaging.org/2019/isbi-2019-awards/

2019-08-06 : Third place win at SIGGRAPH 2019 ACM SRC
Pratik Kalshetti's poster at SIGGRAPH 2019 won the third place in the ACM Student Research Competition in the graduate student category. The work presented in the poster is a part of Pratik's Ph.D. on real-time hand shape and pose estimation. Pratik won a bronze medal and a cash award of USD200.

2019-07-27 : Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya appointed member of AI advisory committee to NITI Aayog, India's think tank.
NITI Aayog, in a letter addressed to Chief Secretaries of all State/UT Governments, as well as Secretaries of Central Ministries, has requested to perform an ‘AI Check’ in all new projects to identify specific areas in which Artificial Intelligence can be used. Both State Governments and Central Ministries are keen to work with NITI Aayog for identifying potential projects and taking relevant initiative. Consequently an Expert Committee has been created to provide necessary support for taking this Dialogue further with Central Ministries and State Governments for identification of projects and policy initiatives. The Committee would work with NITI Aayog to identify potential projects, implementation frameworks, adoption of new technology in various fields, areas of further research, data related issues, and various policy initiatives, etc. Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya has been appointed member of this committee, as per, office memorandum F.No. M-18011/34/2019-DM&A of NITI Aayog

2019-07-27 : Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya is MHRD nominee in Mission Control Group of National Translation Mission.
Platforms like Swayam and NPTEL need translation of lectures into Indian Languages. In a multilingual country like India there is huge requirement of translation of content (spoken as well as written) in the educational domain. Office of Principal Scientific Advisor to Govt. of India has identified Language Translation as a national mission, and Ministry of Human Resource Development has nominated Prof. Pushpak Bhattacharyya in the Mission Control Group (MCG).

2019-07-23 : Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2019
Rishabh Dabral is one of the recipients of Qualcomm Innovation Fellowship 2019. He is a PhD student working with Prof. Ganesh Ramakrishan and Prof. Arjun Jain. His project was titled "Human Sensing from Monocular Videos".

2019-06-24 : Prof. Sunita Sarawagi and Prof. Soumen Chakrabarti have been selected for the "Distinguished Alumnus Award" of IIT Kharagpur for 2019.
Prof. Sunita Sarawagi and Prof. Soumen Chakrabarti have been named for the prestigious "Distinguished Alumnus Award" of IIT Kharagpur for 2019.

2019-05-02 : Honorable Mention at ACM ICPC World Finals 2019
A team from IIT Bombay qualified for the ACM ICPC World Finals 2019 based on winning performances in the Regional Contest. It received an Honorable Mention at the World Finals: https://icpc.baylor.edu/worldfinals/results
Team Name: DeathNote
Team Members: Kushagra Juneja, Surya Prakash, Pratyush Agarwal

2019-03-05 : Prof. Soumen Chakrabarti receives Amazon Research Award
Prof. Soumen Chakrabarti has been awarded an Amazon Research Award 2018 to study "Neural Decomposition of Complex Queries Into Subqueries Over Knowledge Graph and Corpus".

2019-01-05 : Excellence in Research Awards for 2018
B.Tech Project Awards
Saurabh Garg, Guide: Prof. Suyash Awate
His work resulted in a paper in a premier conference in medical image computing “Medical Image Computing and Computer-Assisted Intervention (MICCAI)”, 2018.

M.Tech Project Awards
Sandeep Subramanian, Guide: Prof. Ganesh Ramakrishnan
His work has been accepted for publication in the IEEE Winter Conference on Applications of Computer Vision (WACV), 2019.

KReSIT news archives.


Faculty CSE IT
Forgot Password
    [+] Sitemap     Feedback