Talks & Seminars
Non-blocking Writes
Raju Rangaswami, Florida International University
Date & Time: May 25, 2012 10:30
Venue: Conference Room, Kanwal Rekhi Building
For over four decades, operating systems have blocked processes for page fetch I/O when they write to out-of- core pages either within the file system or within virtual memory pages. In this talk, we will revisit this well-established design primitive and demonstrate that such blocking is not just unnecessary but also detrimental to performance. Non- blocking writes decouples the writing of data to a page from its presence in memory by buffering page updates and merging them later asynchronously, once the page is fetched into memory. It achieves this decoupling with a self-contained operating system improvement seamless to the application and without loss of semantic correctness. Asynchronous, lazy, and scheduled page fetch variants progressively improve upon the basic approach. Interestingly, besides its obvious use within conventional operating systems, non-blocking writes has wider applicability, including within virtual machine monitors, network file client/servers, and in optimizing live VM migration. We will discuss a Linux OS implementation and very encouraging preliminary results of the non-blocking writes approach with its basic asynchronous page fetching variant. We will also see that the overhead introduced by non-blocking writes is negligible with little or no loss of performance when workloads cannot benefit from non-blocking writes at all.
Speaker Profile:
http://users.cis.fiu.edu/~raju/WWW/ Raju Rangaswami received a B.Tech. degree in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India, and M.S. and Ph.D. degrees also in Computer Science from the University of California, Santa Barbara . Raju is currently an Associate Professor of Computer Science at the Florida International University in Miami where he leads Systems Research Laboratory. His research interests include operating systems, storage systems, and virtualization. He is a recipient of the NSF CAREER award, Department of Energy CAREER award, IBM Faculty Award, and NetApp Faculty Fellowship.
List of Talks


Faculty CSE IT
Forgot Password
    [+] Sitemap     Feedback