Tenth International Conference on Management of Data

December 14, 15 and 16, 2000, Pune, India

Hosted by Division II and Pune Chapter of Computer Society of India




General Conference Chair 

Anand Deshpande, Persistent Systems Pvt. Ltd 

Program Committee Chairs

Krithi Ramamritham, IIT Bombay & UMass, Amherst 

Rakesh Agrawal, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA


Organizing Committee Chairs

Arun Kadekodi, Soft Corner, Pune

Arun Ghaisas, Systime, Pune


Tutorial Chairs 

S. Sudarshan, IIT Bombay 

Divesh Srivastava, AT&T Research 


Panel Chairs

T.V. Prabhakar, IIT Kanpur 

Surajit Chaudhuri, Microsoft Research


Industrial Program Chairs 

V. Govindarajan, Aztec Technologies 

S. Seshadri, Lucent Bell Labs.


Publication Chair

T. M. Vijayaraman, Persistent Systems Pvt. Ltd


Publicity Chair

Vijay Kumar, Univ. of Missouri, Kansas City 


Conference Management

R.S. Tavildar, Persistent Systems Pvt. Ltd., Pune

Manoj Tandon, IITM, Pune


Finance Committee

Ashok Pawar, SBI, Pune


Event Manager

C.G. Sahasrabuddhe, Supertech Solutions Ltd., Pune


Advisory Committee

A.K. Pathak, Cummins India Ltd., Pune

Vrinda Ballal, L&T IT, Pune


Host Chapter Chairman

Sharad Joshi, University of Pune






Divy Agrawal (UC Santa Barbara)

B.R. Badrinath (Rutgers University)

Alex Buchmann (Tech. University. Darmstadt)

Jan Van den Bussche (U. of Limburg, Belgium)

Mike Carey (Propel Software Corporation)

Panos Chrysanthis (U. of Pittsburgh)

Anindya Datta (Georgia Tech.)

Umeshwar Dayal (HP Labs)

Klaus Dittrich (U. of Zuerich)

Christos Faloutsos (CMU)

Christoph Freytag (Humboldt Univ. Berlin)

Sumit Ganguly (IIT Kanpur)

Narain Gehani (Lucent Bell Labs)

Jiawei Han (Simon Fraser Univ. Canada)

Jayant Haritsa (IISc, Bangalore)

Yannis Ioannidis (U. of Athens, Hellas, Greece)

H. V. Jagadish (U. of Michigan)

Sushil Jajodia (George Mason University)

Anant Jhingran (IBM Almaden)

Leonid Kalinichenko (Russian Acad. of Sc.)

Kamal Karlapalem (UST, Hong Kong)

Masaru Kitsuregawa (U. of Tokyo)

Ramamohanarao Kotagiri (U. of Melbourne)

Laks Lakshmanan (Concordia U. & IIT B)

Daniel Lieuwen (Lucent Bell Labs)

Tok Wang Ling (National U. of Singapore)

David Lomet (Microsoft Research)

Hongjun Lu (UST, Hong Kong)

S. N. Maheshwari (IIT Delhi)

A. K. Majumdar (IIT Kharagpur)

C. Mohan (IBM Almaden)

Richard Muntz (UCLA)

Sham Navathe (Georgia Tech.)

Gultekin Ozsoyoglu (Case Western Reserve U.)

Kishore Padmanabhan (TCS, India.)

Jan Paredaens (U. of Antwerp, Belgium)

Janaki Ram (IIT Madras)

Raghu Ramakrishnan (U. of Wisconsin)

C. V. Ravishankar (UC Riverside)

Betty Salzberg (Northeastern University)

Sunita Sarawagi (IIT Bombay)

Hans Schek (ETH, Zurich)

John Shafer (Propel Software Corporation)

Dennis Shasha (NYU)

Oded Shmueli (Technion, Israel)

Eric Simon (INRIA, France)

Andrzej Skowron (Warsaw University, Poland)

Rick Snodgrass (U. of Arizona)

S. Sudarshan (IIT Bombay)

Gerhard Weikum (U. of Saarbrucken)

Kyu Young Whang (KAIST, Korea)




We are pleased to welcome you to COMAD 2000, the tenth in the COMAD series of international database conferences, being held in Pune. This conference focuses on new developments in the principles and practices related to data management. This edition of COMAD brings together researchers, practitioners, developers, and users to present and discuss emerging trends, concepts, techniques, technologies, and experiences in data management.


There are several highlights in this year's conference, including the three invited talks by

Dr. Phil Bernstein (Microsoft Corporation, USA)

Dr. Gerhard Weikum (University of Saarbrucken, Germany)

Dr. Sunita Sarawagi (IIT Bombay, India)


Six sessions on state-of-the-art research results, ranging from cutting edge topics such as XML, semi-structured Data management and Mobile, Spatial, and Temporal databases to more established areas such as system tuning, query optimization, data warehousing and data mining. We are also pleased to present papers that address issues raised by the database needs of applications such as biodiversity management, image processing, and stock market trend analysis. Detailed reviews from the program committee were used to develop this high quality program consisting of fifteen full papers and four short papers their authors come from all the continents except Africa! The selections were made from around sixty submissions. We would like to thank members of the Program Committee for their support of COMAD and for the generous contribution of their time towards the review process. We also thank the authors for submitting papers for consideration.


COMAD 2000 will also see six sessions devoted to talks by database practitioners. Database advances reflected in recent and future releases of database products will be highlighted in these talks and we are sure that the COMAD audience will join us in thanking the industry speakers.


Finally, COMAD 2000 features 5 tutorials on a range of topics: XML, hypertext mining, e-commerce, information integration and mobile databases. These will be presented by researchers who have been working in these areas for several years and so their perspective on what has been accomplished and what remains to be done will be of great benefit to the COMAD audience.


We are thankful to the organizing committee of COMAD 2000 and Pune Chapter of Computer Society of India for hosting this conference. We are also thankful to Persistent Systems Private Limited, Pune and IIT Bombay for their support.



To ensure wide visibility of the material published at the conference we have made arrangements with ACM SIGMOD for including these proceedings in the SIGMOD on-line and CD-ROM archives. We thank Richard Snodgrass and Isabel Cruz for making this possible.


Once again, we thank the authors, the tutorial speakers, the speakers from industry and academia, the organizing committee, the program committee, and our local hosts for making COMAD 2000 a grand success.



Rakesh Agrawal

Anand Deshpande

Krithi Ramamritham

T.M. Vijayaraman