1. Editor Journal of Natural Language Engineering Cambridge University Press(inducted 2021).

  2. Major Bhagat Singh Rekhi Chair Professor IIT Bombay (appointed 2021).

  3. H.H.Mathur Research Excellence Award of IIT Bombay (2021).

  4. Abdul Kalam National Fellow (2020).

  5. Associate Editor (Natural Language Processing), Neurocomputing Journal, Elsevier, 2020.

  6. Member, Advisory Committee on Artificial Intelligence, NITI Ayog, 2019.

  7. Member-at-Large (MAL), Asian Federation of NLP, 2019.

  8. Chairman, Academic Advisory Committee, NIELET, 2018.

  9. Distinguished Alumnus, IIT Kharagpur, 2018.

  10. ACL President, 2016.

  11. ACL Vice President, 2015.

  12. Fellow Indian National Academy of Engineering (elected 2015).

  13. Vijay and Sita Vashee Chair Professorship, Computer Science and Engineering Department, IIT Bombay, 2015.

  14. VNMM Award 2014, awarded by IIT Roorkee usually to "an eminent Engineer for Innovative and Creative work in the field of Engineering in India".

  15. Vice President elect, Association of Computational Linguistcis (ACL), 2014-15.

  16. Manthan Award for Hindi Wordnet and Associated Software, 2009.

  17. P.K. Patwardhan Award for Technology Development, 2008.

  18. Member, National Knowledge Commission: task force on translation, set up by the Prime Minister of India, 2005-6.

  19. Member, Committee on Language Technology, set up by the Planning Commission of India, 2006.