Workshop on Machine Learning in Speech and Language Processing

September 7, 2018
Hyderabad, India

Call for Papers/Abstracts and Participation

MLSLP is a recurring workshop, often joint with machine learning or speech/NLP conferences. Prior workshops were held in 2011, 2012, 2016 and 2017. While research in speech and language processing has always involved machine learning, current research is benefiting from even closer interaction between these fields. Speech and language processing is continually mining new ideas from ML and ML, in turn, is devoting more interest to speech and language applications. This workshop aims to be a venue for identifying and incubating the next waves of research directions for interaction and collaboration. The workshop will not be yet another venue for applications of deep learning to speech and language processing, as this is already well covered by major conferences. It will, however, include new directions for deep learning in speech/language, as well as other emerging ideas. In general, the workshop will (1) discuss the emerging research ideas with potential for impact in speech/language and (2) bring together relevant researchers from ML and speech/language who may not regularly interact at conferences. MLSLP is a workshop of SIGML, the SIG on machine learning in speech and language processing of ISCA (the International Speech Communication Association).

Invited Speakers

To be determined.

Paper/Abstract Submission

Prospective authors are invited to submit 2-page abstracts or 4-6 page papers via the submission link to the left. Each paper/abstract will be reviewed by at least two reviewers. Each accepted paper/abstract must have at least one registered author.

Organizing Committee

Preethi Jyothi (general chair) Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Rohit Prabhavalkar (general chair) Google Inc.
Liang Lu (program chair) Microsoft Inc.
Tara Sainath (program chair) Google Inc.

Scientific Committee

Yossi Adi Bar-Ilan University
Ebru Arisoy MEF University
Nancy Chen Institute for Infocomm Research, A*STAR
Sriram Ganapathy Indian Institute of Science
Mark Hasegawa-Johnson UIUC
Yanzhang (Ryan) He Google Inc.
Karen Livescu TTI Chicago
Michael Mandel Brooklyn College CUNY
Vimal Manohar Johns Hopkins University
Petr Motlicek Idiap Research Institute
Arun Narayanan Google Inc.
Anton Ragni University of Cambridge
Hao Tang MIT