

# Indian Conference on Computer Vision, Graphics & Image Processing - 2002



#### Organised by

Space Applications Centre (ISRO)
Ahmedabad 380 015, INDIA.

International Association for Pattern Recognition

email: <a href="mailto:icvgip@ee.iitb.ac.in">icvgip@ee.iitb.ac.in</a> URL: http://www.ee.iitb.ac.in/~icvgip

#### **Patron**

A K S Gopalan, (Director Space Applications Centre)

#### **General Co-Chairs**

K L Majumder (Space Applications Centre)

Anil K Jain (Michigan State University)

#### **Program Co-Chairs**

Subhasis Chaudhuri (IIT Bombay) Andrew Zisserman (Oxford)

#### **Plenary Chair**

P Anandan (Microsoft Research)

#### **Publications Chair**

B Gopalakrishna (Space Applications Centre)

#### **Publicity Chair**

Sumantra Dutta Roy (IIT Bombay)

#### **Industry Liaison Chair**

I C Matieda (Space Applications Centre)

#### **Treasurer**

S Manthira Moorthi (Space Applications Centre)

#### **Local Organizing Chair**

B Kartikeyan (Space Applications Centre)

The Indian Conference on Computer Vision, Graphics and Image Processing (ICVGIP'02) is being organized every two years since 1995 by premier academic institutions and Research and Development laboratories. The objective of the conference is to bring together researchers in the academic institutions and R&D Laboratories working in the above fields and to use this as a forum to exchange views and ideas in these topics of current research.

With this goal, it is planned to organize the next meeting ICVGIP'02 at the Space Applications Centre (ISRO), Ahmedabad during December 16-18, 2002.

#### **Final Call for Papers**

### Theme: Recent Advances in Computer Vision and Satellite Image Processing

Original contributions are solicited for presentation at the Indian Conference on Computer Vision, Graphics and Image Processing (ICVGIP'02). The topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following:

Stereo Vision
3D Shape and Structure Analysis
Motion and Video Analysis
Sensors, Imaging model and Simulation
Pattern Analysis and Classification
Computational and Statistical Methods
Satellite Data Analysis and Interpretation
Image and Video Compression

Content-Based Image Retrieval Document Image Processing 3D Modeling and Visualization Image-Based Rendering View Synthesis Visual Special Effects Biomedical and other Applications

## A few selected papers from the conference will be published in a Special issue of the International Journal – *Image and Vision Computing*

The paper should be limited to a total of SIX A4 size pages (two-column format). There should be a separate cover page indicating the address for correspondence. All papers must be submitted electronically by following the link -- electronic submission. Please note that ONE hard copy of the paper has to be sent, in addition to an electronic version. For the electronic version, use either Postscript (PS) or Portable Document Format (PDF).

#### The tentative Time-lines are as follows:

Submission of Manuscript: June 15, 2002

Notification of Paper Acceptance: September 1, 2002

Submission of Camera-Ready Manuscript: October 1, 2002

Deadline for Early Registration: November 11, 2002

Conference: December 16 - 18, 2002 (Monday to

Wednesday)

All the submissions may kindly be mailed to:

#### Subhasis Chaudhuri

Program Co-Chair, ICVGIP'02
Department of Electrical Engineering
Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Powai, Mumbai - 400 076
INDIA.

Email: sc@ee.iitb.ac.in

#### **Advisory Committee**

K Kasturirangan (DOS)

K R Sridharamurthy (ANTRIX Corp.)

R R Navalgund (NRSA)

Takeo Kanade (Carnegie Mellon)

D Dutta Majumdar (ISI)

B Yegnanarayana (IIT Madras) B N Chatterjee (IIT Kharagpur)

K K Biswas (IIT Delhi) Y V Venkatesh (IISc) Sankar K Pal (ISI) Katsushi Ikeuchi (Univ. of Tokyo) Shimon Ullman (Weizmann Institute)

Olivier Faugeras (INRIA) B L Deekshatulu (CSSTE-AP)

George Joseph (SAC) Kota Harinarayana (ADA) M S Ramakumar (BARC) A R Dasgupta (SAC)

V Jayaraman (ISRO-HQ)

#### **Program Committee**

Subhashis Banerjee (IIT Delhi)

Santanu Chaudhury (IIT Delhi)

Sharat Chandran (IIT Bombay)

U B Desai (IIT Bombay)

Jayanta Mukherjee (IIT Kharagpur)

A K Ray (IIT Kharagpur) K R Ramakrishnan (IISc)

B B Chaudhuri (ISI)

Jharna Majumdar (ADE)

C V Jawahar (IIIT Hyderabad)

P J Narayanan (IIIT Hyderabad)

Subrata Rakshit (CAIR)

Sukhendu Das (IIT Madras)

S P Mudur (NSCT Mumbai) Subir Ghosh (TIFR Mumbai)

K Aizawa (University of Tokyo)

Guna Seetharaman (Louisiana University)

Sharath Pankanti (IBM TJWRL)

Mario Figueiredo (Inst Telecom Lisbon)

Behrooz Kamgar Parsi (Naval Res Lab)

Harpreet Sawhney (Sarnoff Corporation)

A Senthil Kumar (NRSA)

H Niemann (University of Erlangen)

R Krishnan (ADRIN)

Steve Seitz (University of Washington)

R Nevatia (USC)

Shree K Nayar (University of Columbia)

K S Dasgupta (SAC)

N Ahuja (UIUC/IIIT Hyderabad)

S Peleg (Hebrew University)

A N Rajagopalan (IIT Madras)

Prem Kalra (IIT Delhi)

Carlo Regazzoni (University of Genoa)

A del Bimbo (University of Florence)

H-P Siedel (MPI, Saar Bruecken)

Raj Rangayyan (University of Calgary)

Jiri Matas (CVUT, Prague)

Bill Triggs (INRIA)

Shankar Chatterjee (Cinesite, Hollywood)

Richard Hartley (ANÙ)

David Forsyth (UC Berkeley)

Rajeev Sharma (Penn State University)

Alison Noble (Oxford)

Cordelia Schmid (INRIA)

Jitendra Malik (UC Berkeley)

Larry Davis (Maryland)

#### **Organising Committee**

V Jayaraman (ISRO-HQ)

Santanu Chaudhury (IIT Delhi)

B Chanda (ISI)

P J Narayanan (IIIT)

R Krishnan (ADRIN)

KMM Rao (NRSA)

Jharna Majumder (ADE-DRDO)

Ashok Kaushal (C-DAC)

Naresh Gupta (Adobe India)

Phalguni Gupta (IITK)

K S Dasgupta (SAC)

Manab Chakravarti (SAC)

Shri I C Matieda (SAC)

Shri B Gopala Krishna (SAC)

Shri S Manthira Moorthi (SAC)

Shri R M Pandya (SAC)

Dr P K Srivastav (SAC)

Shri R Ramakrishnan (SAC)

Shri Santanu Chaudhury (SAC)

Smt Sunanda Trivedi (SAC)